Organ Donation and Transplantation Expert Advisory Committee (ODTEAC)

The ODTEAC provides expert advice on donation and transplantation system activities for ongoing advancement and implementation of national initiatives in partnership with Canadian Blood Services. ODTEAC members include the Chairs of other CBS advisory committees and representatives from national partner organizations.

ODTEAC Committee Members    

Dr. Norman Kneteman | CHAIR | University of Alberta Hospital, Alberta Health Services, Edmonton, Alberta

CBS Advisory Committee Chairs

Dr. Saneef (Sonny) Dhanani | Chair, Deceased Donation Advisory Committee | Intensivist, Critical Pediatric Critical Care Medicine Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario Chief Medical Officer, Trillium Gift of Life Network, Ottawa, Ontario

Deanna Paulson | Chair, Donation and Transplant Administrators Advisory Committee | Director, Transplant Services University of Alberta Hospital, Alberta Health Services, Edmonton, Alberta

Dr. Brian Clarke | Chair, Heart Transplant Advisory Committee | Associate Professor, UBC Cardiology, St. Paul’s Hospital, Providence Health, Vancouver, British Columbia

Dr. Steven Paraskevas | Chair, Kidney Transplant Advisory Committee | Associate Professor of Surgery - Royal Victoria Hospital, Montréal, Québec

Dr. Susan Gilmour | Chair, Liver Transplant Advisory Committee | Regional Program Clinical Director, Stollery Children's Hospital, Alberta Health Services, Edmonton, Alberta

Dr. Sunita Singh | Chair, Living Donation Advisory Committee | Transplant Nephrologist, Kidney Transplant Clinic Nephrologist, Post Transplant, Kidney Transplant Clinic Donor Nephrologist, Kidney Transplant Clinic UHN - Toronto General Hospital, Toronto, Ontario

Vacant | Chair, Lung Transplant Advisory Committee

Dr. James Lan | Co-Chair, National Human Leukocyte Antigen Advisory Committee | Assistant Professor (tenure-track), University of British Columbia, Director, Immunology Laboratory, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Division of Nephrology, Kidney Transplant Program, Vancouver General Hospital, Vancouver, British Columbia

Dr. Robert Liwski  | Co-Chair, National Human Leukocyte Antigen Advisory Committee l Head, Division of Hematopathology, Medical Director, HLA Typing Laboratory, NSHA - QEII Health Sciences Centre Halifax, Nova Scotia

Roberta Koscielny | Chair, Public Education and Awareness Committee | Communications Specialist Transplant Manitoba, Gift of Life, Winnipeg, Manitoba


Juliana Wu | Representative, Canadian Institute for Health Information | Director, Acute and Ambulatory Care Information Services, Data Strategies and Statistics, Toronto, Ontario

Dr. Charu Kaushic | Representative, Canadian Institute of Health Research | Scientific Director, McMaster Immunology Research Centre and Michael G. DeGroote Institute of Infectious Disease Research, Director, Biosafety Level 3 Laboratory, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario

Dr. Lori West | Representative, Canadian National Transplant Research Program | Executive Director, University of Alberta Edmonton, Alberta

Dr. Jagbir Gill | President, Canadian Organ Replacement Register, President, Canadian Organ Replacement Register, Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of British Columbia Division of Nephrology, St. Paul's Hospital, Vancouver, British Columbia

Dr. Jeffrey Schiff | President, Canadian Society of Transplantation, Medical Director, Pancreas Transplant Program, Toronto General Hospital, University Health Network, Toronto, Ontario

Angela Carpenter | Chair, Organ Donation & Transplantation Collaborative (Health Canada) | Provincial Organ and Tissue Donation & Transplantation Manager | Department of Health and Wellness, PEI, Charlottetown, PEI 



Eric Lun | Executive Director, BC Transplant, Vancouver, British Columbia

Holly Mackin | Executive Director, Women's Health, Trauma Services & Southern Alberta Organ and Tissue Donation Program Alberta Health Services - Calgary Zone Foothills Medical Centre, Alberta Health Services, Calgary, Alberta

Lori Garchinski | Executive Director, Provincial Services – Tertiary Care, Program Lead, Saskatchewan Smart IV Pump Program, Regina General Hospital, Saskatchewan Health Authority, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Krista Maxwell | (Observer), Manager Transplant Manitoba- Gift of Life, HSC Winnipeg- Shared Health, Winnipeg, Manitoba 

Dr. Andrew Healey | Director, Emergency Targeted Sonography, St. Joseph’s Healthcare Chief Medical Officer, Donation, Trillium Gift of Life Network, Hamilton, Ontario

Dr. Darin J. Treleaven | Associate Professor of Medicine Head of Service & Medical Director of Transplantation Division of Nephrology, Department of Medicine, McMaster University, St. Joseph’s Healthcare, Hamilton, Ontario

Janet MacLean | Trillium Gift of Life, Toronto, Ontario

Martine Bouchard  | (Observer), Chief Executive Officer, Transplant Québec, Montreal, Quebec

Dr. Prosanto Chaudhury | Associate Director, General Surgery McGill University Health Centre, Royal Victoria Hospital, Medical Director, Transplant Québec, Montreal, Quebec

Dr. Matthew Weiss | Pediatric Intensivist Centre Mère-Enfant Soleil, Centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec, Medical Director, Donation, Transplant Québec, Québec, Québec

Vacant | Administrative Director, NB Organ and Tissue Program, Horizon Health Network, Moncton, New Brunswick

Dr. Nessa Gogan | Nephrologist, Saint John Regional Hospital, Horizon Health Network, Saint John, New Brunswick

Cynthia Isenor | Health Services Director, Central Zone and Policy & Planning Critical Care Program, Nova Scotia Health Authority, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Dr. Stephen Beed | Site Chief, 3A Med/Surgical ICU Nova Scotia Health Authority QEII Health Sciences Centre, Victoria General Hospital, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Dr. Sharon Peters | Professor of Medicine, Eastern Health Health Science Centre, St. John’s, Newfoundland

Amanda Whelen QA Auditor, Organ Procurement & Exchange of Nfld & Labrador, St. John’s, Newfoundland


Catherine Butler | Director, Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation, Canadian Blood Services

Rosanne Dawson | Legal, Canadian Blood Services

Dr. Isra Levy | Vice-President, Medical Affairs, Canadian Blood Services

Lindy McIntyre | Director, Health Policy and Government Relations, Canadian Blood Services

Dr. Michel Pâquet | Medical Advisor, Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation, Canadian Blood Services

Dr. Sam Shemie | Medical Advisor, Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation, Canadian Blood Services


Last updated May 2024