The Heart Transplant Advisory Committee (HTAC) provides advice on heart donation and transplantation, clinical policy and practice issues including registries development and improvement, and operation of the interprovincial heart program.

Heart Transplant Advisory Committee (HTAC) Members

Dr. Michael McDonald (Co-Chair), Staff Physician/Specialist, Heart Transplant Clinic, UHN - Toronto General Hospital, Toronto, Ontario

VACANT | (Co-Chair)

Dr. Mustafa Toma, Director, Advanced Heart Failure/Transplantation Fellowship Program, Division of Cardiology, VCH/PHCA - St. Paul’s Hospital, Vancouver, British Columbia

Dr. Brian Clarke, Cardiologist, Cardiac Sciences, Transplant, Heart Failure, Intervention, AHS - Foothills Medical Centre Calgary, Alberta

Dr. Daniel Kim, Medical Co-Director, Cardiology, AHS - University of Alberta Hospital, Edmonton, Alberta

Dr. (Stephen) Allan Schaffer, Associate Director, Acute Cardiac Care Unit, WRHA – St. Boniface General Hospital, Winnipeg, Manitoba

TBD  Manitoba

Dr. Anne Dipchand, Associate Director, Transplant Centre University Health Network, Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Ontario

Dr. Vivek Rao, Surgical Director, Heart Transplant Program, University Health Network, Toronto General Hospital, Toronto, Ontario

Dr. Sharon Chih, Cardiologist, University of Ottawa Heart Institute, Ottawa, Ontario

Dr. Michel Carrier, Surgical Director, Heart Transplant Program, University of Montreal Heart Institute, Montreal, Quebec

Dr. Nadia Giannetti, Medical Director, Heart Failure & Heart Transplant, MUHC - Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal, Quebec

Dr. Kim Anderson, Cardiologist, NSHA - QEII Health Sciences Centre, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Peggy John, Associate Director, Program Operations, OTDT, Canadian Blood Services

Clay Gillrie, Associate Director, Interprovincial Organ Sharing, OTDT, Canadian Blood Services                

Fatima Dharsee, Program Manager, Canadian Blood Services

Sean Delaney, Sr. Advisor, Listing and Allocation, Canadian Blood Services

Last updated August 2022