The Deceased Donation Advisory Committee (DDAC) provides expert advice on issues relating to the donation of organs from deceased donors, towards the further advancement of deceased donation in Canada.

Deceased Donation Advisory Committee Members

Dr. Saneef (Sonny) Dhanani | Chair | Pediatric Intensivist, Pediatric Critical Care, Medical Director, Pediatric Critical Care Transport, Trauma Team Leader, Emergency Department, SPOT Team Physician, Rapid Response Team, Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario, Medical Lead, Research, Trillium Gift of Life Network, Ottawa, Ontario 

Vice Chair | Vacant

Dr. George Isac, Anesthesiologist, VCH/PHCA - Vancouver General Hospital, Vancouver, British Columbia 

Dr. Sean Keenan, Intensivist, Fraser Health Authority - Royal Columbian Hospital, Medical Director, Donation, BC Transplant, New Westminster, British Columbia  

Dr. Andreas Kramer, Medical Director, Southern Alberta Organ & Tissue Donation Program, Intensivist, Intensive Critical Care Services and Clinical Neurosciences, Alberta Health Services - Foothills Medical Centre, Calgary, Alberta 

Dr. Dennis Djogovic, Associate Clinical Professor, Department of Critical Care Medicine, University of Alberta Hospital, Edmonton, Alberta

Dr. Alastair WallAssistant Professor General Internal Medicine, Saskatchewan Health Authority, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Dr. Jennifer BairdPhysician–Critical Care Medicine, Regina General Hospital & Pasqua Hospital, Donation Physician & Co-Medical Director, Provincial Organ Donation Program, Saskatchewan Health Authority, Regina General Hospital, Regina, Saskatchewan

Dr. Owen Mooney, Medical Director, Transplant Manitoba- Gift of Life, Health Sciences Centre, Winnipeg, Manitoba 

Dr. Andrew Healey, Emergency Physician, St. Joseph’s Healthcare, Hamilton, Ontario

Karen Dryden-Palmer, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Pediatric Intensive Care Unit, University Health Network - Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Ontario 

Dr. Sam D. Shemie, Medical Advisor, Donation, Canadian Blood Services | Division of Critical Care, Montreal Children’s Hospital | Medical Director, Extracorporeal Life Support Program, McGill University Health Centre, Montreal, Quebec 

Dr. Matthew Weiss, Pediatric Intensivist, CHU de Québec - Centre Mère-Enfant Soleil, Medical Director, Donation, Transplant Québec, Quebec, Quebec 

Dr. Robert Adams, Department of Neurosurgery, South East Regional Health Authority - The Moncton Hospital, Dalhousie University, Moncton, New Brunswick 

Dr. Stephen Beed, Site Chief, Nova Scotia Health Authority, QEII Health Sciences Centre, Victoria General Hospital, Halifax, Nova Scotia 

Dr. Jennifer Hancock, Critical Care Physician, Nova Scotia Health Authority QEII Health Sciences Centre, Victoria General Hospital, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Dr. Gwynedd Pickett, Neurosurgical Critical Care Specialist, Nova Scotia Health Authority - QEII Health Sciences Centre, Halifax, Nova Scotia  

Dr. Sharon Peters, Professor of Medicine, Eastern Health, St. John’s, Newfoundland 


Catherine Butler, Director, Organ & Tissue Donation & Transplantation

Peggy John, Associate Director, Program Operations, OTDT, Canadian Blood Services, Vancouver, British Columbia

Everad Tilokee, Project Manager–System Development, OTDT, Canadian Blood Services, Ottawa, Ontario


Last updated August 2023